Staff

Director

Rajindra Puri

Director of the CBCD

R.K.Puri@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)3148

Staff

Miguel Alexiades

Senior Lecturer in Environmental Anthropology/Ethnobotany

M.N.Alexiades@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)4885
Ian Bride

Senior Lecturer in Biodiversity Management

I.G.Bride@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)7872
Roy Ellen

Emeritus Professor of Anthropology & Human Ecology

R.F.Ellen@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)3421
Michael Fischer

Professor of Anthropological Sciences

M.D.Fischer@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)3144
Robert Fish

Reader in Human Ecology

R.Fish@kent.ac.uk 01227 (8)16315

Senior Lecturer in Social Anthropology

D.Peluso@kent.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Social Anthropology

M.S.Poltorak@kent.ac.uk
Anna Waldstein

Senior Lecturer in Medical Anthropology and Ethnobotany

A.Waldstein@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)3989

Associate staff

Alan Bicker

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

a.j.bicker@kent.ac.uk

Basketmaker, Ethnobotany teacher

Associate Lecturer in Ethnobotany

Dr. Alison Foster teaches Botanical Foundations of Ethnobotany to MSc Ethnobotany students at Kent. She began…

foster.alison.c@gmail.com

UCL School of Pharmacy, Ethnobotany teacher

m.heinrich@ucl.ac.uk
Patricia Howard

Honorary Professor of Ethnobotany

P.Howard@kent.ac.uk
Jonathon Loh

Honorary Research Fellow

j.loh@kent.ac.uk
Gary Martin

Honorary Research Fellow, Global Diversity Foundation

gary@global-diversity.org
Ian Martin

Honorary Research Fellow, Eden Project, Ethnobotany teacher

ianineden@aol.com
Mark Nesbitt

Honorary Research Fellow, RBG Kew, Ethnobotany Teacher

M.Nesbitt@kew.org
Dario Novellino

Honorary Research Fellow

palawan.endangered@gmail.com

Honorary Research Fellow, Eden Project, Ethnobotany teacher

AOrmerod@edenproject.com
Simon Platten

Honorary Research Fellow, Tamar Grow Local

Tom Thornton

ECI, Oxford; External Examiner

thomas.thornton@eci.ox.ac.uk

Affiliate members

Profile image placeholder

Adjunct Assistant Professor, George Washington University

nejben00@gmail.com

Ethiopian Civil Service University, Center for Research in Ethics & Integrity

Zerihun Doffana Doda, PhD (Environmental Anthropology, Development & Conservation) Assistant Professor & Senior Researcher at Center…

doffanaz@gmail.com
Profile image placeholder

Woodsmoke

Ethnobotanist/ Ecologist/National Geographic Explorer

Alex Greene is an Ethnobotanist and Ecologist, with research experience in field botany and ornithology in…

accidentalshrike@gmail.com
Profile image placeholder

Filmmaker, Anthropologist, Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj, Romania

Anthony Knight

Postgraduate student

ajk34@kent.ac.uk
Kay Evelina Lewis-Jones

Researcher DEFRA

kayevelina@outlook.com

Faculty Adjunct, Department of Horticuture, Aromatic and Medicinal Plants (HAMP), Mizoram University, Aizawl, India

Green Moroccan Plan and women empowerment (2015-2018) funded by the EU. New affiliation: Faculty Adjunct, Department…

bernadettemontanari@hotmail.com
Profile image placeholder

Independent researcher, Wildlife Conservation

Anna Piestrzynska

Postgraduate student

ap503@kent.ac.uk
Craig Ritchie

Postgraduate student

cr471@kent.ac.uk
Maria Cifre Sabater

Postgraduate student

mc637@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

Postdoctoral Researcher, Brunel University

Profile image placeholder

Ethnopharmacologist, Traditional Tibetan Medicine

Visiting Fellows

Assistant Professor, Institute of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology, University of Lodz, Poland

Monika has won a scholarship from the Polish National Agency for Academic Exchange (NAWA) for a…

monika.kujawska@uni.lodz.pl

Professor of Social Anthropology, Universidad de Pablo de Olavide, Sevilla, Spain

Visiting Fellow  April 2018, January-February 2019

eruibal@upo.es

Social Anthropology PhD candidate at the Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Seville, Spain

Visiting Training Fellow 2017 “Human-animal relations and hunting in Extremadura, Spain.”

smoncru@upo.es

PhD Candidate, Estonian University of Life Sciences, Estonia

Visiting Training Fellow 2016 – 2017  “The uses of wild edible plants in Estonia”

raivo.kalle@mail.ee

Marie Curie Fellow, Wageningen University

Visiting Fellow 2016-17 “Cultural and Biodiversity Protection through Heritage Policies. Andean Potatoes’ Regimes of Value in…

Olivia.Ange@ulb.ac.be

PhD Candidate, University of Castilla-La Mancha

Visiting Training Scholar 2015 “Ethnobotanical and ethnographic study of Quercus species and its fruits in the…

eggomez@diputoledo.es

Postgraduate College in Agricultural Sciences, Veracruz

Vsiting Fellow 2015 “Homegardens, agrobiodiversity and food security in Indigenous communities in Mexico”

parturo@colpos.mx

Professor of Environmental Anthropology, University of Seville

Visiting Fellow 2013 “The dynamics of biocultural diversity in the cork oak forests (dehesa) of the…

racosta@us.es

Research Fellow, ICTA, UAB Barcelona

Postdoctoral Research Fellow 2012-2014. COMMUNITY BASED MANAGEMENT IN A CHANGING PLANET. RESEARCH, ACTION AND SOCIOECOLOGICAL TRANSFORMATIONS…

Pablo.Dominguez@uab.cat