Jump to accessibility statement Jump to content

Quantum Theory and Simulation

Condensed Matter Physics in the Cities 2019: Focus days on “New avenues for emergence in out-of-equilibrium matter”

Conference Remit:

The EPSRC NetworkPlus for Emergence and Non-Equilibrium Physics are pleased to announce a focus workshop providing the opening to the 2019 program of Condensed Matter Physics in the Cities (CMPC19). This focus workshop will bring together a community of experts in non-equilibrium matter, emergence and quantum many-body physics, covering topics across many-body localisation, dynamical phase transitions, synthetic matter and out-of-equilibrium driven light-matter interacting systems.

See our latest program and abstract booklet.

Registration is now closed. We look forward to see registered participants at the meeting.

Dates: July 1 – July 2, 2019

Venue: RHUL Building, 11 Bedford Square, London, WC1B 3RF

Invited Speakers:

John Chalker (Oxford University)
Max McGinley (University of Cambridge)
Gregoire Ithier (Royal Holloway University of London)
Dieter Jaksch (Oxford University)
Johannes Knolle (Imperial College London)
Achilleas Lazarides (University of Loughborough)
Arjeet Pal (University College London)
John Saunders (Royal Holloway University of London)
Marzena Szymanska (University College London)
Ruben Verresen (Technical University of Munich)

Program for Focus Workshop (July 1-2):

The program starts with registration from 9am on July 1st (first talk starts at 10am), and finishes at ca. 5:15pm on July 2nd. The final schedule is available online, or to download. We also provide the abstract booklet.

Ongoing program (July 3-16):

This focus workshop will lead onto the wider program of Condensed Matter Physics in the Cities 2019, during 1 – 16 July 2019 under the heading “From Mott to Eliashberg: new twists in high-temperature superconductivity and beyond”. For information on the full program, with events across Paris and London, see the CMPC19 webpage for this year’s 10thanniversary edition of the event.

Note also that our program includes a general public lecture with the topic “Quantum Technology – Challenges and Opportunities”, to be delivered by Prof Seamus Davis (Cornell, Oxford) on Thursday 4thJuly 2019 at Royal Holloway University of London. To attend, you need to register separately at: https://quantumtechnology.eventbrite.co.uk/

Registration, Fees and Support:

Registration: All speakers and participants are kindly invited to register ASAP using the registration form.

Fees: Participation (including lunch and coffee breaks): £20/day (free for EMNEQ members); Conference dinner on July 1st: £40 (free for EMNEQ members)

If you need to settle fees, please pay for the corresponding items in the University of Kent web store.

Full support is available for members of the EMNEQ network to attend the focus workshop (supporting postdocs and academics), including funds to cover travel and accommodation (where needed). All UK academics can join the network using the contact information here.

Thanks to ICAM support, we can also offer bursaries for junior members to attend the Condensed Matter Physics in the City, including the EMNEQ focus workshop. To apply, please follow the instructions here.

We may be able to offer some additional support for those who do not fall into these groups at the discretion of the organisers. Please contact us to discuss your requirements.


We gratefully acknowledge funding from ICAM, the EPSRC NetworkPlus on Emergence and Non-Equilibrium Physics, and the School of Physical Sciences, University of Kent.


The event is organised by an organisation committee of the Hubbard Theory Consortium:

Ryan Barnett, HTC, Imperial College London
Sam Carr, HTC, University of Kent (Student co-ordinator)
Piers Coleman, Rutgers University
Andrew Ho, HTC, Royal Holloway, University of London
Andrew Green, HTC, University College London
Gunnar Möller, University of Kent
Giovanni Sordi, HTC, Royal Holloway, University of London
Jorge Quintanilla, University of Kent

Event coordinator: Gunnar Möller, University of Kent