Jump to accessibility statement Jump to content

School of Economics

Research seminars

The School of Economics hosts research seminars each week, during the Autumn, Spring and Summer terms, organised by Dr Anthony Savagar and Dr Anirban Mitra.

Seminar speakers are usually visiting academics from universities and institutions in the UK and abroad. In addition, the School and its research centres host a number of internal and external research events through the year.

The below table of seminars will be updated periodically. For our latest research seminar bookings, please refer to the live timetable here.

SUMMER 2022

Wednesday, May 11, 2022  15:30-17:00   Yu Zheng (Queen Mary University of London): Unequal Transition: The Making of China’s Wealth Gap

Friday, May 13, 2022 12:00-13:00    Alessio Mitra (University of Kent): The impact of women’s political leadership on institutional quality

SPRING 2022   (IN PERSON)                                               

Wednesday, February 2, 2022  15:30-17:00   Franck Portier (UCL): Does it Matter to Assume that U.S. Monetary Authorities Follow a Taylor Rule?

Wednesday, February 16, 2022 15:30-17:00  John Morrow  (Kings College London): The Comparative Advantage of Firms.

Friday, February 18, 2022      12:00-13:00    Bansi Malde (University of Kent): To invest or not to invest in sanitation: the role of intra-household gender differences in perceptions and bargaining power

Friday, February 25, 2022      12:00-13:00    Anthony Savagar (University of Kent): Returns to Scale and Productivity

Wednesday, March 2, 2022    15:30-17:00    Renaud Foucart (Lancaster University): Rituals of Reason: A Choice-Based Approach to the Acceptability of Lotteries in Allocation Problems.

Friday, March 4, 2022   12:00-13:00       Rory Mullen (Warwick University): On Aggregate Fluctuations, Systemic Risk, and the Covariance of Firm-Level Activity.

Wednesday, March 16, 2022  15:30-17:00    Mirko Draca (Warwick University):The Returns to Viral Media: The Case of US Campaign Contributions

Wednesday, March 23, 2022  15:30-17:00  Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln (Goethe University Frankfurt): The Fiscal and Welfare Effects of Policy Responses to the Covid-19 School Closures

AUTUMN 2021   (ONLINE/IN PERSON)                  

Friday, October 1, 2021  12:00-13:00     Klaus Wälde (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz): The dynamics of Pareto distributed wealth in a small open economy

Wednesday, October 13, 2021  15:30-17:00  Adrian Pabst (University of Kent): The NIESR forecasting model

Friday, October 15, 2021  12:00-13:00   John Astin (European Commission): What is inflation?

Friday, October 22, 2021  12:00-13:00    Joel Kariel (University of Kent): Returns to Scale and Productivity in the UK

Wednesday, October 27, 2021   15:30-17:00   Jeff Prince (Indiana University): Empirical Evidence of the Value of Privacy

Friday, November 5, 2021      12:00-13:00  Yidan Chai (University of Kent) : TBC

Wednesday, November 10, 2021   15:30-17:00   Ben Ho (Vassar College): Why Trust Matters: An economist’s guide to the ties that bind us

Wednesday, November 17, 2021   15:30-17:00   David Hemous (UZH): Induced Automation: Evidence from Firm-level Patent Data

Wednesday, November 24, 2021 15:30-17:00   Dudley Cooke (Exeter University): Asset Prices, Firm Entry and Monetary Policy

Wednesday, December 1, 2021  15:30-17:00      Helen Simpson (Bristol University): Commuting Fast and Slow: The Effects of High-Speed Rail

Wednesday, December 8, 2021   15:30-17:00   Renata Narita (University of São Paulo): Payroll Tax, Employment and Labor Market Concentration

Monday, December 13, 2021 16:00-17:00   Danial Lashkari (Boston College): Occupational Choice and the Intergenerational Mobility of Welfare

SUMMER 2021   (ONLINE)     

Wednesday, May 19, 2021     15:30-16:20    Richard McManus (Canterbury Christ Church): The impact of tax changes on government revenue: moving beyond the Laffer curve

Friday, June 4, 2021   12:00-13:00    Rinchan Mirza (University of Kent): Entrenched Political Dynasties and Development under Competitive Clientelism: Evidence from Pakistan

Friday, June 11, 2021 12:00-13:00    Fernanda Leite Lopez de Leon (University of Kent):  The effects of emergency government cash transfers on beliefs and behaviours during the COVID pandemic: Evidence from Brazil

Wednesday, June 16, 2021     15:00-15:50    Esther Gehrke (Wageningen University): Start what you Finish! Ex ante risk and schooling investments in the presence of dynamic complementarities

Friday, June 18, 2021 12:00-13:00   Peter King (University of Kent): Economic valuation of benefits from the proposed REACH restriction of intentionally added microplastics.

Wednesday, June 23, 2021   15:00- 16:30   Kiminori Matsuyama (Northwestern University): A technology gap model of premature deindustrialization

Wednesday, June 30, 2021     14:00-15:00    Britta Augsburg (Institute for Fiscal Studies): Improving Infrastructure in Developing Cities: Experimental Evidence from India