Jump to accessibility statement Jump to content

Research seminars

Economics Research Seminars are temporarily suspended due to Covid-19. We hope to resume soon.

 

The School of Economics hosts research seminars each week, during the Autumn, Spring and Summer terms, organised by Dr Anthony Savagar and Dr Anirban Mitra.

Seminar speakers are usually visiting academics from universities and institutions in the UK and abroad. Last academic year we had 48 visiting speakers, including a number from overseas institutions.

In addition, the School and its research centres host a number of internal and external research events through the year.

Spring term 2020

15 Jan 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Professor Juan José Dolado (U Carlos III de Madrid)
Pros and Cons of Zero-hours Contracts in a Frictional Labor Market

17 Jan 2020 (Fri) 12.00 KENSR11
Dr Sinem Hacioglu Hoke (Bank of England)
Macroeconomic Effects of Political Risk Shocks

22 Jan 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Professor Nicholas Crafts (University of Sussex)
The Current UK Productivity Slowdown in Historical Perspective

29 Jan 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Mingli Chen (University of Warwick)
High Dimensional Latent Panel Quantile Regression with an Application to Asset Pricing

31 Jan 2020 (Fri) 12.00 KENSR11
Dr Kalina Manova (University College London)
Trade, Productivity, and (Mis)allocation

3 Feb 2020 (Mon) 14.00 KENSR11
Dr Giulia Tura (European University Institute)
Marriage, Fertility, and Cultural Integration in Italy

5 Feb 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Thepthida Sopraseuth (Université de Cergy-Pontoise)
A Tale of Two Countries: A Story of the French and US Polarization  

6 Feb 2020 (Thu) 14.00 KENSR11
Dr Khushboo Surana (KU Leuven)
How different are we? Identifying the degree of revealed preference heterogeneity

7 Feb 2020 (Fri) 16.00 KENSR11
James Graham (New York University)
House Prices, Investors, and Credit in the Great Housing Bust

19 Feb 2020 (Mon) 15.30 SIBLT2
Professor Xavier Mateos-Planas (Queen Mary University of London)
Trade credit delinquency, bankruptcy, and the propagation of aggregate shocks

21 Feb 2020 (Fri) 12.00 KENSR11
Dr Matteo Pazzona (Brunel University London)
Does Playing with Superstars make you a better Superstar? Peer Effects in a High-Skilled Labor Market

28 Feb 2020 (Fri) 12.00 KENSR11
Dr Simon Quinn (University of Oxford)
Higher Purchase: A field-experiment in asset-based microfinance

11 Mar 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Georg Graetz (Uppsala Universitet)

25 Mar 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Emma Riley (University of Oxford)

1 Apr 2020 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Eugenio Proto (University of Glasgow)

Autumn term 2019

25 Sep 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR10
Dr Tomohiro Hirano (Royal Holloway)
The Wobbly Economy (with Joseph Stiglitz)

27 Sep 2019 (Fri) 12.00 SIBSR6
Dr Dimitrije Ruzic (INSEAD)
Returns to Scale, Productivity Measurement, and Trends in U.S. Manufacturing Misallocation (with Sui-Jade Ho)

2 Oct 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Majid Al Sadoon (Durham University)
The Identification Problem for Linear Rational Expectations Models (with Piotr Zwiernik)

4 Oct 2019 (Fri) 12.00 SIBSR6
Professor Sergi Jimenez-Martin (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona)
The Effect of Abortion Legalization on Fertility, Marriage, and Long-term Outcomes for Women (with Libertad Gonzalez, Natalia Nollenberger and Judit Vall Castello)

9 Oct 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Professor Guillaume Daudin (Universite Paris Dauphine)
Product Substitutability and the Distance Puzzle

16 Oct 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Raphael Soubeyran (French National Institute for Agricultural Research)
Technology Adoption and Pro-social Preferences

23 Oct 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR1
Stefano Falcone (ECARES, Brussels)
Technological Change, Organizational Capacity and Conflict: Land Occupations in Brazil (with Michele Rosenberg)

6 Nov 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR1
Dr Amalavoyal Chari (University of Sussex)
Public sector and the misallocation of labor: Evidence from a policy experiment in India

8 Nov 2019 (Fri) 12.00 SIBSR6
Professor Tassos Magdalinos (University of Southampton)
VAR processes with multiple integration orders: representation and inference (with Peter C.B. Phillips)

15 Nov 2019 (Fri) 12.00 KENSR11
Michael Webb (Stanford University)
The Impacts of Artificial Intelligence on the Labor Market

22 Nov 2019 (Fri) 12.00 SIBSR6
Rebecca Riley (NIESR)
Distressed Banks, Distorted Decisions?

27 Nov 2019 (Wed) 16.00 KENSR11
Dr Markus Kinateder (Universidad de Navarra)
Collaboration in Endogenous Networks (with Luca Paolo Merlino)

29 Nov 2019 (Fri) 12.00 SIBSR6
Peter McAdam (ECB)

4 Dec 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Professor Thomas Cornelissen (University of York)
Knowledge Spillover and Individual Careers

11 Dec 2019 (Wed) 15.30 KENSR11
Dr Gabriella Santangelo (University of Cambridge)
Does Schooling Cause Structural Transformation? (with Tommaso Porzio)

13 Dec 2019 (Fri) 15.00 KENSR11
Ana Rincon-Aznar (NIESR)