Centre Director

Image of Dr Ben Hickman

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Modern Poetry

Ben’s research centres around British and American experimental poetry of the last hundred years, with a…

b.hickman@kent.ac.uk 01227 816262

School of English

School of English - Professor of Modernism and Critical Theory

David Ayers publishes mainly in the fields of modernism and critical theory. His first book, Wyndham…

d.s.ayers@kent.ac.uk 01227 823454
Image of Dr Nancy Gaffield

School of English - Reader in Creative Writing

I teach at undergraduate and postgraduate levels and supervise postgraduate research students in Creative Writing (Poetry).…

n.gaffield@kent.ac.uk 01227 824945
image of Professor David Herd

School of English - Professor of Modern Literature

David Herd is a poet, critic and Professor of Modern Literature. He has published widely on…

d.herd@kent.ac.uk 01227 827506
Image of Dr Ben Hickman

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Modern Poetry

Ben’s research centres around British and American experimental poetry of the last hundred years, with a…

b.hickman@kent.ac.uk 01227 816262
Image of Dorothy lehane

School of English - Lecturer in Creative Writing

Dorothy Lehane is the author of three poetry publications: Umwelt (Leafe Press, 2016), Ephemeris (Nine Arches Press, 2014) and Places of…

D.Lehane@kent.ac.uk 01227 826584
Image of Dr Ariane Mildenberg

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Modernism

Ariane Mildenberg’s research focuses on kinships of both method and concern between phenomenology – the work…

a.mildenberg@kent.ac.uk 01227 827590
image of Sr Simon Smith

School of English - Reader in Creative Writing

Simon Smith is a poet, translator and essayist. He worked at The Poetry Library on the…

s.smith-376@kent.ac.uk 01227 823423
Image of Dr Juha Virtanen

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Contemporary Literature

Juha is the author of Poetry and Performance During the British Poetry Revival 1960-1980: Event and Effect (Palgrave…

j.p.virtanen@kent.ac.uk 01227 826550