Centre Director

Image of Dr Ben Hickman

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Modern Poetry (Research leave Autumn term)

My research centres around British and American experimental poetry of the last hundred years, with a…

b.hickman@kent.ac.uk 01227 816262
Image of Dr Juha Virtanen

School of English - Lecturer in Contemporary Literature (Acting Director Autumn term)

My research primarily covers American and British literature from the 20th and 21st centuries, with a…

j.p.virtanen@kent.ac.uk 01227 826550

School of English

School of English - Professor of Modernism and Critical Theory

My principal interests are in the fields of Modernism, American Literature and Critical Theory. I am…

d.s.ayers@kent.ac.uk 01227 823454
Image of Dr Nancy Gaffield

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing

I teach at undergraduate and postgraduate levels and supervise postgraduate research students in Creative Writing (Poetry).…

n.gaffield@kent.ac.uk 01227 824945
image of Professor David Herd

School of English - Professor of Modern Literature

David Herd is a poet, critic, and teacher. He has given readings and lectures in Australia,…

d.herd@kent.ac.uk 01227 827506
Image of Dr Ben Hickman

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Modern Poetry (Research leave Autumn term)

My research centres around British and American experimental poetry of the last hundred years, with a…

b.hickman@kent.ac.uk 01227 816262
Image of Dorothy lehane

School of English - Lecturer in Creative Writing

I am the author of three poetry publications: Umwelt (Leafe Press, 2016), Ephemeris (Nine Arches Press, 2014) and Places of Articulation (dancing girl…

D.Lehane@kent.ac.uk 01227 826584
Image of Dr Ariane Mildenberg

School of English - Senior Lecturer in Modernism

My research focuses on kinships of both method and concern between phenomenology―the work of Edmund Husserl,…

a.mildenberg@kent.ac.uk 01227 827590
image of Sr Simon Smith

School of English - Reader in Creative Writing

‘Simon Smith’s writing forges English language poetry out of the translated utterance, London Bridge, [fixes] itself not…

s.smith-376@kent.ac.uk 01227 823423
Image of Dr Juha Virtanen

School of English - Lecturer in Contemporary Literature (Acting Director Autumn term)

My research primarily covers American and British literature from the 20th and 21st centuries, with a…

j.p.virtanen@kent.ac.uk 01227 826550
Image of Dr Sarah Wood

School of English - Reader in English Literature and Literary Theory

I’m interested in literature of various periods and kinds, deconstruction, philosophy and psychoanalysis. In recent years…

s.wood@kent.ac.uk 01227 827485