Jump to accessibility statement Jump to content

Composers and Technology Research Group

Composers and Technology Research Group

New music, new technologies

The Composers and Technology Research Group examines the role and influence of new and recent technologies in the creation, performance and dissemination of new music.

Staff and postgraduate students specialize in a variety of areas including sonic art, instrumental composition involving live electronics and extended techniques, sound synthesis, visual music and cross-cultural collaboration. Interdisciplinary links within the university include Kent Interdisciplinary Centre for Spatial Studies (KISS), Biosciences and Computing.

Members: Dr Paul Fretwell (Chair), , Esther Kiburi (GTA), Richard Lightman, Dr Aki Pasoulas, Dr Rich Perks, Prof Denis Smalley (Hon Prof), Jos Zwaanenburg (Amsterdam Conservatoire)