The Research and Innovation Awards scheme celebrates the work and achievements of the University’s academics and researchers. The scheme was established in 2015 to mark the University’s 50th anniversary.

For more information about the scheme Phil Ward.

The award winners 2019

In 2019 the Research Awards were brought together with those for teaching and innovation. As the Vice-Chancellor put it, this was an important step. ‘By seeing them in the round, recognising them side by side, I believe that we better reflect the work of a contemporary university, and the demands faced by modern academics and technicians.

‘We have to balance these demands, and that’s no easy task. To be able to provide an exceptional learning experience for our students, as well as undertaking cutting-edge research and innovation and engaging with the public, is challenging but necessary. It is only in doing so that we can truly fulfil the aim set out in our Charter: ‘to advance education and disseminate knowledge by teaching, scholarship and research for the public benefit.’

The winners of the Research and Innovation Awards in 2019 were:

  • Advanced Research Award         
    • Professor Richard Griffiths (School of Anthropology & Conservation)
  • Consolidator Research Award
    • Professor Tracy Kivell (School of Anthropology & Conservation)
  • Starting Research Award
    • Dr Rob Barker (School of Physical Sciences)
  • Early Career Researcher in Knowledge Exchange
    • Dr Kaitlyn Regehr (School of Arts)
  • Innovation and Enterprise Collaboration
    • Professor Darren Griffin (School of Biosciences)
  • Public Engagement with Research
    • Professor Gordon Lynch (School of European Culture & Languages)
  • Technical Support
    • Kevin Smith and Julien Soosaipillai (Kent School of Architecture & Planning)

The picture on our homepage is of the 2019 Teaching, Research and Innovation Award winners.

Previous winners

Details of all previous winners are on the main University website.