We are divided into four teams, with an Ethics and Governance Officer providing support across all these teams. Responsibilities are as follows:

  • The Research Development Team is responsible for the development of the research culture more broadly, providing training, facilitating collaborations, and work with academics to ensure that their ideas are developed into fully fledged viable proposals.
  • The Research Grants and Contracts Team deals with the contracts, costing, approval and submission of grants.
  • The Research Accounts Team looks after post-award accounts, claims, auditing and reporting.
  • The Research Excellence Team supports and monitors the REF, public engagement and impact, as well as the systems supporting research management, such as KRIMSON, SciVal and Vertigo Ventures.

All our details are below. If you’re unsure who to contact you can search here

Director's Office

Simon Kerridge

Director

Overall leadership of Research Services, external benchmarking, open access, advocacy

(01227 82)3229 s.r.kerridge@kent.ac.uk
Phil Ward

Deputy Director

Communication, strategy, RIB, DoRN, Research Prizes, Grants Factory, ECRN, internal funding

p.ward@kent.ac.uk (01227 82)7748
Sue Prout

PA to the Director and Clerical Officer

General queries, grant announcements, KRIMSON, Researchfish

(01227 82)7054 s.c.prout@kent.ac.uk

Development

Phil Ward

Deputy Director

Communication, strategy, RIB, DoRN, Research Prizes, Grants Factory, ECRN, internal funding

p.ward@kent.ac.uk (01227 82)7748
Carolyn Barker

Research Development Officer

Sciences: GCRF, Newton and H2020

(01227 82)7957 c.m.barker-47@kent.ac.uk
Lynne Bennett

Research Development Officer

Humanities

(01227 82)4799 l.bennett-282@kent.ac.uk
Helen Leech

Research Development Officer

Sciences

(01227 82)8850 h.leech@kent.ac.uk

Research Development Officer

Social Sciences

(01227 82)4427 a.povilaike@kent.ac.uk
Sarah Tetley

Eastern ARC Officer

Facilitating, managing, monitoring, and reporting on Eastern ARC

(01227 8)16423 s.r.tetley-8@kent.ac.uk

Grants & Contracts

Andrew Massoura

Research Grants & Contracts Manager

PolIR, CHSS, SECL, and SMSAS

(01227 82)3256 a.n.massoura@kent.ac.uk
Karen Allart Research Grants & Contracts Officer

Research Grants & Contracts Officer

Computing, Pharmacy, Sports, Journalism and Music & Fine Art

(01227 82)8967 k.a.allart@kent.ac.uk
Chris Barton Research Grants & Contracts Officer

Research Grants & Contracts Officer

Biosciences, SSPSSR, Psychology, and Architecture

(01227 82)3789 c.barton-738@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

Research Grants & Contracts Officer

Economics, KLS and EDA

(01227 82) 4203 j.benstead@kent.ac.uk
Jo Verrall

Research Grants & Contracts Officer

SAC and PSSRU

01227 82(4624) j.j.verrall@kent.ac.uk
Rob Whiteing

Research Grants & Contracts Officer

KBS, English, History, SPS and Tizard

(01227 82)4132 r.j.whiteing-59@kent.ac.uk

Accounts

Nigel Martin

Research Accounts Manager

Sports & Exercise Sciences, Pharmacy, Research Finance Network, audits, Green and Lean project

(01227 8)16448 n.t.d.martin@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

Deputy Research Accounts Manager

SAC, PolIR, Computing, and SPS

(01227 82)7938 r.j.goldsmith@kent.ac.uk

Research Accounts Officer

CHSS, History, Arts, English, UELT and non-faculty sttaff.

(01227 82)3067 d.a.kubicz-macauley@kent.ac.uk
Lynnette Maling

Research Accounts Officer

Biosciences and EDA

(01227 82)3882 l.k.maling@kent.ac.uk
James Manning

Research Costing & Accounting Officer

(01227 82)4616 j.manning@kent.ac.uk
Ben Obembe

Research Accounts Officer

Economics, Psychology, KBS, Architecture, Journalism, SMSAS

(01227 82)4800 b.obembe-92@kent.ac.uk
Zoe Wood

Research Accounts Officer

SECL, KLS, SPS, SSPSSR, PSSRU and Tizard

(01227 82)3765 z.wood@kent.ac.uk

Ethics & Governance

Research Ethics & Governance Officer

Policy, procedures and approval of research that involves ethics and governance issues

(01227 82)4797 n.r.palmer@kent.ac.uk

Excellence

Profile image placeholder

Research Excellence Manager

(01227 82)7350 b.woessner@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

Impact & Engagement Officer

(01227 82)6595 m.r.bell@kent.ac.uk
Silvia Dobre

Research Information Manager

Research information analysis and benchmarking, particularly in support of the REF

(01227 8)16727 s.c.dobre@kent.ac.uk
Renata McDonnell

Research Information Systems Manager

Systems for supporting research, including KRIMSON, pFACT, Vertigo Ventures and SciVal.

(01227 82)3190 r.mcdonnell@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

REF Support Officer

(01227 82)6595 c.pereira@kent.ac.uk