This year we the Research Prizes and Innovation Awards are coming together as part of the same scheme.

All academic staff are invited to nominate candidates for them. For the research, engagement and technician awards, both individuals and groups are eligible. For innovation and knowledge exchange, only individuals can be nominated.


There will be seven awards overall. The categories are:

  • Research Awards: These recognise exceptional research achievement. They use the categories and eligibility of the European Research Council, which is the benchmark of excellent research across Europe. There is no set tariff as to what comprises ‘exceptional achievement’, and the Awards recognise that achievements will vary between disciplines.
    • Advanced Research Award: Nominees must have 12 or more years of experience since completion of PhD, be leaders in their respective field(s) of research and must demonstrate significant achievement in the last 10 years.
    • Consolidator Research Award: Nominees must have 7-12 years of experience since completion of PhD, and a track record showing research talent
    • Starting Research Award: Nominees must have less than seven years of experience since completion of PhD, and a research track record that shows great promise. Both permanent academic staff, fellows and researchers may apply.
  • Innovation Awards: Innovation lies at the heart of commercialisation of research results.
    • Innovation and Enterprise Collaboration Award: recognises the contribution, and commitment, from an individual in delivering their research into commercial innovation. It covers activities such as invention disclosure, new patents filed, spin-out company creation, developing new products and developing new links with industry as key factors in bringing research to the market place.
    • Early Career Knowledge Exchange Award: This award is part of our continued commitment to supporting early career researchers (ECR) and recognises an ECR’s engagement in an external knowledge exchange project, consultancy or training programme. The application needs to demonstrate the ECR’s contribution to the project and the impact of the knowledge exchange.
  • Public Engagement with Research Award: Through Kent 2025, the University has articulated its intention to become one of the leading civic universities. The ways that we engage outside of our institution will increasingly lead to demonstrable benefit to our local, regional, national and international communities. This year, in light of our renewed focus on the value of engagement and as a first step towards the fully combined awards, we are introducing an award for excellence in public engagement with research.
  • Technical Support Award: The University has signed up to the Technician Commitment, a sector wide, collaborative initiative led by the Science Council to ensure visibility, recognition, career development and sustainability for technicians working in higher education and research.​ This award is open to all technicians working to support either student learning or research at the University.

The awards are a recognition of excellence by your peers, and an indication of esteem. There is no financial reward, but the achievements of the winners will be celebrated through a range of different avenues, including an awards dinner hosted by the Vice-Chancellor and President, publications, posters and a dedicated website.

Eligibility and criteria

Nominees must be a member of staff at the time the nomination is submitted.

The nomination should be based on a range of exceptional achievements, which should be relevant to the category for which the nominee is being put forward. These could include but not be limited to: publications in highly ranked journals, number of citations, grants awarded, innovation income, policy development, and economic impact.

There are two additional considerations:

  • A demonstration of substantial (field weighted) grant income will be an important criterion for the research awards. This will not apply to the other categories.
  • For the public engagement with research award, nominators should be aware that excellence in this field is considered to be:
    • Purposeful and may lead to significant research impact at a local, regional, national or international level
    • Always mutually beneficial to all parties involved and often leads to long term collaborations
    • Well evaluated.

The Advanced Research Award will be given to exceptional leaders in terms of originality and significance of their research contributions over the past decade. The other awards are for achievements in the last twelve months, although some flexibility in this will be allowed.

All of the activity that is highlighted should have been conducted in line with Kent’s commitments to equality, inclusivity, diversity and sustainability.

Nomination, assessment and outcome

Nominations must use this form(Word) and be accompanied by a CV (two sides of A4) and publication list (one side of A4 listing the most recent relevant publications).

Nominations must be received by Phil Ward by 5:00pm on 20 May 2019.

Following the deadline, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research & Innovation will convene a panel to select the winners of the awards. This will consist of the following (or their nominees):

  • The Associate Deans Research & Innovation
  • The Director of Innovation and Enterprise
  • The Director of Research Services
  • The Dean of the Graduate School
  • The Director of Corporate Communications
  • The Research Impact and Public Engagement Manager.

All nominees will be informed of the outcome by Monday 3 June 2019. A general announcement will be made in the week after, and details of the winners will be widely disseminated via Corporate Communications.

The winners will be will be celebrated at a gala dinner and ceremony to be held on Wednesday 10 July. The event will be hosted by the Vice-Chancellor, and attended by representatives of funders, charities, the media, and the wider public.

More information

For more information contact Phil Ward.