History of Sciences featured image

The Centre for the History of the Sciences is a founding member of the Kent Animal Humanities Network.

Members

Director

Professor Charlotte Sleigh

History - Professor of Science Humanities

c.l.sleigh@kent.ac.uk +44 (0)1227 824043

Members

Dr Rebekah Higgitt

History - Senior Lecturer

r.higgitt@kent.ac.uk +44 (0)1227 826516
Dr Karen Jones

History - Reader

k.r.jones@kent.ac.uk +44 (0)1227 823406
Dr John Wills

History - Reader

j.wills@kent.ac.uk +44 (0)1227 823243

Affiliated members

Dr Patty Baker FSA

Senior Lecturer in Classical and Archaeological Studies

P.A.Baker-3@kent.ac.uk +44(0)1227 827349
Dr Stella Bolaki

Senior Lecturer in American Literature

s.bolaki@kent.ac.uk 01227 823461
Profile image placeholder

Assistant Lecturer

n.r.calver@kent.ac.uk +44 (0)1227 823710
Profile image placeholder

Science Museum

Henry Claridge

Honorary Research Fellow

g.h.claridge@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

The intersection of Art, Science & Technology

Profile image placeholder

Emeritus Professor

m.p.crosland@kent.ac.uk
Profile image placeholder

Assistant Lecturer

R.G.A.Dolby@kent.ac.uk
Professor Frank Furedi

Emeritus Professor of Sociology

F.Furedi@kent.ac.uk
Professor Ellie Lee

Professor of Family and Parenting Research

E.J.Lee@kent.ac.uk 01227 82 (7526)
Dr Dan Lloyd

Reader in Pharmacology

D.Lloyd@kent.ac.uk 01227 (82)7357
Noah Moxham

University of St Andrews

njm24@st-andrews.ac.uk +44 (0) 1334 462996
Dr Patricia Novillo-Corvalán

Senior Lecturer in Comparative Literature

P.Novillo-Corvalan@kent.ac.uk +44(0)1227 827484
Professor Crosbie Smith

Emeritus Professor

c.smith@kent.ac.uk +44 (0)1227 823710

Postgraduate students

Profile image placeholder

The construction of the Airy Transit Circle: the role of the relations between men of science and instrument makers in the field of astronomy in 19th century Britain

Profile image placeholder

Roads and modernity in 20th century Britain, 1900—63

Profile image placeholder

Convolutions: Writing the Mind and the Neurology of the Literary Brain

Profile image placeholder

Postgraduate researcher

Profile image placeholder

Postgraduate researcher

Profile image placeholder

The faces of British science: narrating lives in science since c.1945

Profile image placeholder

‘Literary Representations of the American West Steamboat (1811-1861)’

Profile image placeholder

‘Films, Ethics and Politics at Porton Down, 1939-1968’

Profile image placeholder

‘Popper : Hero of British Science, 1934-1994’

Profile image placeholder

‘The shaping of North-east tramp shipping in its cultural contexts’

Profile image placeholder

‘Cholera and the Sanitary Revolution in Nineteenth Century England’

Profile image placeholder

‘Death in the Beer-glass: The Manchester Arsenic-in-Beer Epidemic 1900-1’

Profile image placeholder

‘The Voice of Science: Ideology, Sherlock Holmes and “The Strand Magazine”’

Profile image placeholder

‘Locating Contemporary Witches in Magical and Scientific Belief and Pratctice Systems’

Profile image placeholder

‘What Would I Do With a Computer? The Shaping of the Sinclair Computer, 1980-1986’

Profile image placeholder

‘Shaping the Victorian Navy: Experiment, Experience and the Culture of Expertise in Naval Architecture’

Profile image placeholder

‘The missing link, Samuel Butler and the theory of evolution: design, physiology and psychology of the unconscious in Victorian Britain’

Profile image placeholder

‘From the Science of Selection to Psychologising Civvy Street: The Tavistock Group, 1939-1948’