A blue butterfly on a leaf

Generous bequests made in 1995, and another in 2007, have enabled DICE to establish three annual prizes for the best of its students. In addition, students of DICE created the Ellya Mustafa Prize, named after a student who sadly passed away in 2011. The prizes for each academic year are awarded at the annual DICE lecture.

Maurice Swingland Prize

This prize is awarded to the best postgraduate student taught by DICE in its postgraduate programmes involving coursework and dissertation. The prize is judged on coursework and dissertation marks, the extent to which the student used their time at DICE for personal development and the contribution of the student to the wellbeing of DICE. The Maurice Swingland Prize is named after the late father of Ian Swingland, DICE’s Founder.

1995/96 Frances Pirie 1996/97 Inogwabini Bila-Isia
1997/98 Peter Halliday 1998/99 Mike Hearn
1999/00 Million Belay & Kevin Smith 2000/01 Sergio Herrera Encina
2001/02 Bahar Dutt 2002/03 Mwape Sichilongo
2003/04 Leonardo Fleck 2004/05 Bruno Nhancale
2005/06 Sanjay Gubbi 2006/07 Hugo van der Westhuizen
2007/08 Benjamin Lee 2008/09 Alice Ward-Francis
2009/10 Nicolas Galvez 2010/11 Rodgers Lubilo & Destario Metusala
2011/12 Leonie Lawrence 2012/13 Rachel Shairp & Trishant Simlai
2013/14 Debbie Fogell 2014/15 Sam Leslie
2015/16 Amy Collis

Fiona Alexander Prize

This prize is awarded to the best postgraduate student completing an MSc, MPhil or PhD by research in DICE. The prize is judged on thesis quality, time to submission, examiners’ reports, the extent to which the student used their time at DICE for personal development and the contribution of the student to the wellbeing of DICE. The prize is named after Fiona Alexander, the daughter of Sandy, our former University Treasurer, and Meg Alexander. This prize is no longer awarded.

1995/96 Dr Atanga Ekobo 1997/98 Dr Matthew Walpole
1998/99 Dr Lim Chan Koon 1999/00 Anne Riddell
2000/01 Dr Zelealem Ashenafi 2001/02 Dr Robin Moore
2002/03 Dr Noah Sitati 2003/04 Dr Matthew Linkie
2004/05 Dr Hector Magome 2005/06 Dr Mounir Abi-Said
2006/07 Dr Laury Cullen Jr & Dr David Sewell 2007/08 Brett Lewis
2009/10 Patricia Medici 2010/11 Gail Campbell-Smith
2011/12 Enrico Di Minin 2012/13 Mark Darmaraj

Durrell Trust for Conservation Biology Prize

This prize is awarded to the most outstanding research postgraduate student completing an MSc, MPhil or PhD, based on thesis quality, the examiners’ reports, personal development and contribution to the DICE ethos

2013/14 Abishek Harihar (joint winner) 2013/14 Diogo Verissimo (joint winner)
2013/14 Jake Bicknell (joint winner) 2014/15 Hazel Jackson
2015/16 Dan Challender (joint winner) 2014/15 Amy Hinsley (joint winner)

Worcester Prize for DICE

This prize will be awarded annually to the best undergraduate student taught by DICE on any of its courses. This prize will be judged on the basis of the following criteria: all module marks, taking into account difficulties and challenges faced by the student in fieldwork, laboratory techniques or other aspects of the course; the contribution of the candidate as an undergraduate student to personal development and progress; and, contribution of the student to the general wellbeing of the class and of DICE. The prize has been made by the former Chancellor of the University of Kent, Sir Robert Worcester.

2007/08 Michaela Kossuth 2008/09 Kathrin Mach
2009/10 Ben Payne 2010/11 Amy Liebthal
2011/12 Tamzin Rasho 2012/13 Phoebe Maund
2013/14 Hannah Conduit 2014/15 Cassy Flint
2015/16 Gwynne Braidwood

Ellya Mustafa Staff Award

The Ellya Mustafa Prize was created by DICE students to recognize the efforts of staff members towards the DICE mission and the student experience at DICE. The prize is the most recent DICE award, having been awarded for the first time in 2011, and is attributed through a direct vote from all DICE students. The award is named after Ellya Hafidzah Haji Mustafa, a conservationist from Brunei, who completed her MSc in Conservation Biology at DICE in 2006/2007. Ellya passed away in January 2011 due to sudden illness and this prize is a homage to her organized by her fellow DICE colleagues.

2010/11 Dr Dave Roberts 2011/12 Dr Zoe Davies
2012/13 Dr Joseph Tzanopoulos 2013/14 Dr Tatyana Humle
2014/15 Dr Helen Newing 2015/16 Dr Rob Fish
2016/17 Dr Charlie Gardner

Gerald Durrell Prize

A prize awarded for the best student gaining a First on the BSc Wildlife Conservation and BA Environmental Studies (and cognate programmes) with the School of Anthropology and Conservation.

2013/14 Megan Knowles-Bacon 2014/15 Kashmir Flint
2015/16 Joseph England